Ringaskiddy, Co. Cork (021) 437 8238



The Primary School Curriculum (1999) outlines the contents of children’s learning—the what and how of children’s learning—for children’s first eight years in school, from junior infants to sixth class.http://www.ncca.ie/en/Curriculum_and_Assessment/Early_Childhood_and_Primary_Education/Primary-Education/

The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): history, geography and science
  4. Arts education: visual arts, music and drama
  5. Physical education
  6. Social, personal and health education (SPHE)
  7. Religious or ethical education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies.

All classes have access to I.T. equipment & the school has a comprehensive e-Learning Plan which has been sanctioned by the Board of Management. Each child has an opportunity to develop I.C.T. skills through use of P.C.’s, I.W.B.’s, Digital Cameras, iPads etc.

Learning Support
Each year the children are tested using Standardised Tests for Primary Schools. If these test results show that the child is not performing adequately for his/her age the teacher will recommend the child for learning support. The child’s parents will also be involved in this decision.

© 2013 Ringaskiddy Lower Harbour National School